Sharing a file with an external share link

Creating a time-limited, optionally password-protected, or view-only link for a file and sending it to someone without a SmartFiles account.

  • User with read permission in the area (external sharing must be enabled for the organisation)

How to share a file with an external sharing link?

Create a time-limited, optionally password-protected, or view-only link for a file and send it to someone without a SmartFiles account. Who can do this: User with read permission in the area (external sharing must be enabled in the organisation). The recipient can open the file until the time expires or you cancel it.

The recipient opens the file without an account. The link is displayed only at the moment it is created.

Steps

  1. Tap the file to open its details and tap External sharing.

  2. Select validity period: 1, 7, 14 or 30 days.

  3. PDF, image, or text files offer the View only option. If you select Yes, downloading is disabled; the document is displayed watermarked with the viewer’s entered name and email. 1"

  4. Optionally set a password (6-100 characters). If not for viewing only, you can also select a download limit. 2"

  5. Tap Create link and share; send or copy the link from your phone’s share screen.

  6. Active links are listed at the bottom of the page; tap Cancel to close them. 3"

External sharing: duration, view-only option, and active links
  1. 1View-only option
  2. 2Download limit
  3. 3View-only link active
With demo data, Android.
Download limit is hidden when View Only is selected
  1. 1Meaning of view-only
With demo data, Android.
"Result The person receiving the link can open the file until the time expires or you cancel it.
"Note If personal data is found in the file, a warning appears on the sharing page; check this before sharing.
"Info If External sharing links are disabled in the organization is written, this feature is disabled for your organization; the organization administrator can enable it in settings. Only the person who created a link or someone with deletion permission in the area can cancel it.

Related pages