Using the right-click menu

By right-clicking an item in the file list, the empty space of the list, the storage area in the sidebar, or a folder, the user sees available operations in that location in the menu. The menu only shows operations permitted by your permissions in the area. Details: SmartFiles features.

  • User

How to use the right-click menu?

By right-clicking an item in the file list, the empty space of the list, the storage area in the sidebar, or a folder, the user sees available actions for that location in the menu. Who can do this: User. The selected action starts immediately; the menu closes and focus returns to its previous position. The menu shows only actions permitted by your permissions in that area.

Steps

  1. Right-click a file or folder in the file list 1; options for opening, downloading, version history, sharing link, renaming, moving, and deleting appear in the menu.

  2. Select the action from the menu. External sharing link 2, Rename 3, and Move open in the right details panel; Move to Trash 4 does not delete the file but moves it to the trash where it can be recovered.

  3. If multiple items are selected and you right-click a selected item, the menu offers download and delete actions for all of them simultaneously.

  4. Right-click on an empty space in the list to open a new folder, upload a file, or change the view.

  5. Right-click a storage area in the sidebar to select activity history and area settings, or right-click a folder to open it or download as ZIP.

  6. Press Esc or click outside the menu to close it; use ↑ and ↓ to navigate the menu.

Menu that opens when right-clicking a file: preview, download, share, rename, and delete
  1. 1Opens the file without leaving the panel
  2. 2Creates time-limited links
  3. 3Changes the name in the right panel
  4. 4Not deleted; recovered from trash
With demo data.
"Result The selected action starts immediately; the menu closes and focus returns to its previous position.
"Tip The menu in the trash bin only offers Rollback and Permanently delete operations. Operations you don't have permission for do not appear in the menu at all.

Related pages